Select reviews

Painting of a Venetian nobleman hunting in the lagoon, in a boat with four rowers.

These are select reviews featured on the home page — the complete list of all reviews are on a separate page.

A perfect start for a Venetian sojourn

July 10, 2024

We can’t stop thinking about the first morning of our 11-day stay in Venice. How lucky we were to discover an introduction to this unique place – “History Walks in Venice: Hidden History in Plain Sight” with René Seindal. We did not need to walk much. A simple turn around the campo illustrated centuries of history — political, economic, architectural, religious — over two hours. If you care to understand what you are seeing and why it’s there, beyond the standard tourist experience, don’t hestitate to book some time with René. Grazie mille!

Laura

Thanks for a great few hours! Learned so much 🙂

July 9, 2024

This was a lovely few hours! If you want to see the little things that make Venice fascinating and special, book this tour with René. While you don’t walk far, you journey deep into Venice’s past. I learned so much about the beginnings of Venice, it’s struggles (fires, crime, prostitution, nobility). René is a fantastic storyteller and history nerd (like me), so it was enjoyable for me. As a dog lover, he also brought along his adorable pup, which made the experience x10 better.

Amy

Recommend to history buffs and people with curious minds

July 11, 2024

René was great – clearly very knowledgable and enthusiastic. Flexible with us and some of the difficulties we experienced (completely unrelated to René or the tour). Recommend to history buffs and people with curious minds.

Emily

Fantastic Time Learning About Venice

June 24, 2024

We had two full days in Venice, and we took Renee’s walking tour so we could walk around with a local and learn about the city’s history and architecture. He spent hours walking around with us, telling us fun little tidbits, showing us areas of the city we NEVER would have found if we were just walking on our own.

It was really a unique experience walking around and having him just speak about whatever we noticed! We definitely recommend this tour.

Mathew

I would totally recommend this experience!!

June 18, 2024

Rene is very knowledgeable, and it was fascinating listening to his take on the history of this island. We learned to identify the age of a building based on certain architectural details, the way trade was conducted down the ages, and the many layers of construction that this island has received based on how many major floods have occurred in the past, and more such stuff. I would totally recommend this experience!! 👌👍

Amrita

First class and insightful tour

February 23, 2024

Rene is a first class guide with a deep understanding of Venetian history and culture. A Dane having lived for many years in Venice, he combines the wider perspectives of an “outsider”, with a love of his new “home”. So many guides have only a superficial knowledge of the more famous aspects of Venice, Rene takes you back in time to explain how Venice grew and why, to its gradual decline from a position of a trading supremacy that funded its art and culture. Our time passed too quickly. I would without reservation recommend Rene if you really want to understand this unique city.

Paul

We loved the information so much

December 1, 2023

This tour with Renè was fascinating and he shared so much information about Venice. We are really happy we went!!! Katherine and crew

Katherine

Book this experience, you’ll thank me later!

November 9, 2021

Book this experience, you’ll thank me later! Rene is a phenomenal story-teller and possesses such a wealth of knowledge on the history of Venice. If you want something more beyond the basic facts you learn on the mainstream history tours, this is the experience for you. He opened our eyes to a Venice we would have never seen otherwise and kept us engaged the entire time and even long after we finished the tour. From climate-change and political/socio-economic forces that shaped the city to ancient graffiti and chips on a blank stone that mean way more than you would think they do. This was, hands-down, one of the most valuable experiences we had as first-timers and lovers of history in Venice.

Michael

Rene beats all other guides here 10 to 1, he is simply the BEST

November 22, 2021

I took every available tour of Venice during my three days here. Rene beats all other guides here 10 to 1, he is simply the BEST story teller, accurate research, curious facts and attention to detail, very passionate about the city and loads to learn even for a book worm like me. If I could give him ten stars I would. He will definitely be my guide next time in Venice. You can miss out on all the other tours here but you will not have seen Venice if you don’t go on his tour. Thank you so much Rene for making this visit so special!

Anna

Rene is incredible knowledgeable

December 1, 2021

Rene is incredible knowledgeable about history in common and Venice in particular! he knows a lot about The history but also how it is to live in a city that is so special! ask questions and you will get tons of answers and he is someone who won‘t stop after the time is over, when he has time he will go on telling you stories about things you probably would not notice. we have done another typical tourist tour which wasn‘t good at all, so we can only recommend this kind of tours, if you are interested to hear something off the beaten path and where you don‘t have the feeling to being ripped off.

Jörg