Hidden history – all reviews

Byzantine art on the walls in Venice

Reviews for the Hidden History in plain sight walk.

Rene beats all other guides here 10 to 1, he is simply the BEST

November 22, 2021

I took every available tour of Venice during my three days here. Rene beats all other guides here 10 to 1, he is simply the BEST story teller, accurate research, curious facts and attention to detail, very passionate about the city and loads to learn even for a book worm like me. If I could give him ten stars I would. He will definitely be my guide next time in Venice. You can miss out on all the other tours here but you will not have seen Venice if you don’t go on his tour. Thank you so much Rene for making this visit so special!

Anna

Book this experience, you’ll thank me later!

November 9, 2021

Book this experience, you’ll thank me later! Rene is a phenomenal story-teller and possesses such a wealth of knowledge on the history of Venice. If you want something more beyond the basic facts you learn on the mainstream history tours, this is the experience for you. He opened our eyes to a Venice we would have never seen otherwise and kept us engaged the entire time and even long after we finished the tour. From climate-change and political/socio-economic forces that shaped the city to ancient graffiti and chips on a blank stone that mean way more than you would think they do. This was, hands-down, one of the most valuable experiences we had as first-timers and lovers of history in Venice.

Michael

Recommend to history buffs and people with curious minds

July 11, 2024

René was great – clearly very knowledgable and enthusiastic. Flexible with us and some of the difficulties we experienced (completely unrelated to René or the tour). Recommend to history buffs and people with curious minds.

Emily

A perfect start for a Venetian sojourn

July 10, 2024

We can’t stop thinking about the first morning of our 11-day stay in Venice. How lucky we were to discover an introduction to this unique place – “History Walks in Venice: Hidden History in Plain Sight” with René Seindal. We did not need to walk much. A simple turn around the campo illustrated centuries of history — political, economic, architectural, religious — over two hours. If you care to understand what you are seeing and why it’s there, beyond the standard tourist experience, don’t hestitate to book some time with René. Grazie mille!

Laura

Thanks for a great few hours! Learned so much 🙂

July 9, 2024

This was a lovely few hours! If you want to see the little things that make Venice fascinating and special, book this tour with René. While you don’t walk far, you journey deep into Venice’s past. I learned so much about the beginnings of Venice, it’s struggles (fires, crime, prostitution, nobility). René is a fantastic storyteller and history nerd (like me), so it was enjoyable for me. As a dog lover, he also brought along his adorable pup, which made the experience x10 better.

Amy

We had a blast! thank you

June 30, 2024

WOW, Rene is super knowledgeable and an amazing storyteller, historian and a scholar. He knew everything we asked and we had many questions:) he gave us a perspective on how Venicw became to be what it is today, debunked myths about Venice and showed us how to appreciate the architecture around us in Venice and to recognize ourselves the different periods and styles that surrounds us. IF you are a history lover like us, don’t hesitate to book this tour!

Noy

No Title

June 30, 2024

Rene非常有耐心,知识也很渊博,我和孩子都得到了非常好的照顾,也学到了非常多知识,很开心能遇到Rene和他的狗狗

Fantastic Time Learning About Venice

June 24, 2024

We had two full days in Venice, and we took Renee’s walking tour so we could walk around with a local and learn about the city’s history and architecture. He spent hours walking around with us, telling us fun little tidbits, showing us areas of the city we NEVER would have found if we were just walking on our own.

It was really a unique experience walking around and having him just speak about whatever we noticed! We definitely recommend this tour.

Mathew

Thank you so much!

June 22, 2024

Amazing tour! René is a wonderful storyteller, and knows so much about Venice. He stayed extra to answer our questions and was so generous with his time and knowledge.

Holly

I would totally recommend this experience!!

June 18, 2024

Rene is very knowledgeable, and it was fascinating listening to his take on the history of this island. We learned to identify the age of a building based on certain architectural details, the way trade was conducted down the ages, and the many layers of construction that this island has received based on how many major floods have occurred in the past, and more such stuff. I would totally recommend this experience!! 👌👍

Amrita

No Title

June 9, 2024

René is very knowledgeable. history is a passion of his, he has deep knowledge and puts the info in historical context. fantastic tour

Leslie

Merci beaucoup pour tout.

May 29, 2024

La balade avec René était très intéressante. René, en plus d’être un très bon conteur qui connaît sa ville , est attentif et s’adapte à son audience. Pour notre arrivée à Venise , commencer par cette balade en dehors des rues bondées de touristes était parfait.

Samira

A fascinating discourse exploring the nature of community and the intrinsic importance of culture

May 29, 2024

An outstanding exploration of the complex history of Venice. Rene is passionate, his breadth and depth of knowledge is impressive and his capacity to explore a plethora of subjects, with regard to the changing nature of Venetian life over the centuries was quite inspiring. We walked away with a far greater understanding and appreciation.

Cherie

We would highly recommend this tour.

May 20, 2024

I wish we would’ve discovered René’s guided tour earlier and not only on our last day in Venice. We definitely would’ve rebooked another tour with him. René is very knowledgeable, and we learned so much about Venice’s history from him. We explored many hidden signs in the city, and he was able to answer all of our questions in much detail. You can really see that he is passionate about history! We would highly recommend this tour.

Inessa

Thanks for some very exciting hours in Venice!

May 20, 2024

René told us a very exciting and living story about Venice. René’s way of telling made the long story of Venice manageable, easy to understand, and so interesting that we wanted to spend the whole day alone with René. Thanks for some very exciting hours in Venice!

Lasse

Fascinating and broad history of Venice

May 15, 2024

My wife and I went on a tour this weekend with Rene (and his delightful dog!). Rene was a font of knowledge and was able to answer questions on any period of Venetian history. Helps to see Venice in a different way once you understand its history. Highly recommended.

Michael

No Title

April 24, 2024

Amazing tour. A true historian with a font of knowledge. Gave us a lecture on the history of Venice starting with the ancient Roman empire…a perfect example of someone who believes you need to understand where you’ve been in order to know where you are now.

Christopher

Thank you for giving us a glimpse and allowing us to appreciate what this city has to offer

April 11, 2024

Although we’ve barely scratched the surface, the tour was a fascinating introduction to Venice history, culture and complex society. René is extremely knowledgeable, very articulate and most importantly, a passionate storyteller. This experience has triggered our curiosity and I immediately purchased a couple of books to read more about the city. I also recommend René’s numerous blog posts, articles, newsletters, lists and translations, providing an idea of the range of possible subjects for discussion during the walks.

Ofer

Excellent encyclopaedic knowledge

April 4, 2024

Excellent encyclopaedic knowledge. I wish I had prepared a list of questions, because I’m sure Rene would have had the answers!

Brona

Thank you so much for your time and sharing your knowledge!

April 1, 2024

René is SO knowledgeable about history in the area. René also does an outstanding job of connecting events and movements from around their world and their connections to Venice.

Sarah

No Title

March 29, 2024

We had a very interesting couple of hours. Rene is clearly a skilled historian able to meet his groups on their level of knowledge and preparation. We are sure that you will appreciate the small groups and the individual design of the tours. We learned a lot Recommended

Lars

Definitely recommended!

March 28, 2024

Not that much to say because this tours actually delivers. It is exactly a tour with Rene with an incredible wealth of knowledge, be it from the architecture to the political system of Venice. Book here if you want to understand more about the past of Venice. And the title does not lie at all,- a lot is present in plain sight but easily to overlook. Definitely recommended!

Jakob

We really enjoyed our day with you

March 25, 2024

We enjoyed our stroll around Venice with Renee. Renee is very knowledgeable about European history. We learned a lot about Venice and its trade relations with other nations. We also learned a lot about how Venetian palaces were organized and run, which I found fascinating. Would have liked to have heard more stories about the families that occupied those palaces and their influence on the city state in its prime. Still, we had a lovely time and truly enjoyed Renee’s company and insights.

Layla

No Title

March 19, 2024

Good experience with René, he’s passionate about the history of his beautiful city and I recommend you take this experience if you are fond of history as well. We expected a more contemporary visit but ended up learning a lot about the construction of the city and its institution.

Pauline

Thanks for a wonderful tour!!

March 13, 2024

It was very interesting to learn about the history of the city through tiny architectural details that you’d miss if you weren’t looking for them! René does a fantastic job.

Katherine

È stata un bella esperienza!

March 13, 2024

Renè è preparatissimo e nonostante questo molto curioso e la sua curiosità è contagiosa! Ti fa venire voglia di guardare ogni angolo di muro e i nomi di tutti i campi e le calle per conoscerne la storia Esperienza consigliata!

Alessandra

Thank you very much for your time and attention to detail

March 6, 2024

If you are looking for a very detailed history of Venice then this is for you!

Catherine

Very interesting and cozy tour

February 25, 2024

It was so much fun to listen and walk around with René. He has a quite entertaining way to explain past events and show how it impacts Venice today. We learned a lot (goal achieved) and can definitely recommend his tour!

Donato

First class and insightful tour

February 23, 2024

Rene is a first class guide with a deep understanding of Venetian history and culture. A Dane having lived for many years in Venice, he combines the wider perspectives of an “outsider”, with a love of his new “home”. So many guides have only a superficial knowledge of the more famous aspects of Venice, Rene takes you back in time to explain how Venice grew and why, to its gradual decline from a position of a trading supremacy that funded its art and culture. Our time passed too quickly. I would without reservation recommend Rene if you really want to understand this unique city.

Paul

The best history tour!

February 20, 2024

I love history and architecture and always want to know the history and stories behind all the unique details on Vancian buildings and streets. So happy I found Rene’s tour! It’s the best tour we had all our trips to Europe. Will definitely take another tour with Rene If we come back to Venice! Highly recommend!

Claire

Thanks so much for a wonderful tour one’s again

February 12, 2024

This is my second time taking the tour with Renee, he has a vast knowledge of Venice history. My friend been his fist time, thought the tour was wonderful as well. You will discover the real history of Venice and how people lived at the start of the island. A must take tour while in Venice, you won’t be disappointed.

Guillermo

We loved the historic details you shared with us. It was an unforgettable experience!

February 11, 2024

Rene was a gem! A vast knowledge of history of Venice. A desire to share his knowledge with us. Very pleasant manner is story telling. Great interest to details. Thank you Rene! We learnt so much with you!

Julia

Would recommend to anyone

January 22, 2024

Had a great time touring a small part of Venice with Rene. His deep knowledge and passion for history are evident and would recommend to anyone looking for a detailed dive into the history of Venice.

Natalie

Grazi Mille. Loved the tour. Will check out your website.

January 17, 2024

Wonderful tour. Rene was intelligent, friendly and adapted the tour to my interests. I would highly recommend to anyone interested in the history of Venice.

Siva

No Title

January 13, 2024

Velmi profesionální a učený výklad historie Benátek. Tím myslím tu velkou historii osobností a bitev, ale hlavně i tu každodenní, která je složitější na studium.

Ondřej

If you want to dive in deep into the history of Venice do not look further

January 6, 2024

If you want to dive in deep into the history of Venice do not look further. Rene happens to be the most knowledgeable person ever about Venice (and world history in general). We actually didn’t really walked around but spend almost 2 hours just at one place. He pointed out all the details and told stories about them. We left smarter, inspired and full of curiosity about the city. Thank you Rene, it’s been a pleasure spending those 2 hours with you!

Julia

René e simpatico

January 4, 2024

René e simpatico ed ha una grande conoscenza storica di Venezia che ci ha trasmesso in un bellissimo giro concluso in un bacaro con ottimi cicchetti!

Andrea

The tour with René was great.

January 1, 2024

The tour with René was great. He knew so much about the city and history, and what was really fun was when we walked around and he pointed at random things we would never had noticed, and explained the rich history behind each item. Since we asked so many questions, he even extended our tour until he really had to leave, which was very nice of him. It was a really great experience and I would book it again the next time I’m in the city!

Mint

Such an informative tour!

December 27, 2023

A fantastic tour. Every stone has a story. There is so much history in every alleyway for those willing to look. René will be your personal history professor and give you an in depth look at the political, historical and socioeconomic context of Venice. If you are looking for a general overview of the city’s greatest hits, this tour is not for you. But if you want to tread through secluded alleyways and listen to the secret history etched into the walls around you, René is your guide!

Renna

Definitely recommend!

December 26, 2023

Rene is super knowledgeable and we learned so much about Venice history and modern days – definitely recommend!

Xiaochen

E’ stata una bella esperienza, grazie Renè!

December 26, 2023

Renè si è dimostrato da subito molto disponibile e cordiale. Ci ha raccontato una Venezia che ci sarebbe sfuggita con una visita da semplici turisti. E’ stata una bella esperienza, grazie Renè!

Marta

No Title

December 10, 2023

Rene is a true historian and a fountain of information. An interesting perspective of the city of Venice.

Nehiel

I highly recommend tour with Rene

December 4, 2023

I took 4 hours tour with Rene in Venice. He was really knowledgeable about the history and gave me great overview of the city. Myself I am interested in history and I want to understand it, so time with Rene was very helpful because I got clear picture of what was going on. I highly recommend tour with Rene for people, who like logical view of history and who want to understand, not only hear random facts.

Anna

Rene was an amazing storyteller

December 4, 2023

Rene was an amazing storyteller! I was the only one so it was like a private tour. His tales and great details kept me going in this cold weather. He even extended the time and recommended places to have lunch. One of the highlights was his dog Giubba listening to him and of course, he was an excellent tour partner!

Andrea

We loved the information so much

December 1, 2023

This tour with Renè was fascinating and he shared so much information about Venice. We are really happy we went!!! Katherine and crew

Katherine

Highly recommend for lovers of history and unique details.

November 23, 2023

Rene has incredible knowledge and enthusiasm. This was a unique tour because of all the details Rene notices and because we spent less time walking than talking in the square of the meeting place. We were discovering the history of Venice just being in the square and covering the bridge/ the church/ the school/ the statue/ the nearby cemetery which are within 100m of each other. He knows so much that he can easily create a custom experience. His tour was two hours but we talked even more than that as he walked us to our next destination. Highly recommend for lovers of history and unique details.

Anna

A great overview of the city

November 23, 2023

I took 4 hours tour with René in Venice. He was really knowledgeable about the history and gave me great overview of the city. Myself I am interested in history and I want to understand it, so time with René was very helpful because I got clear picture of what was going on. I highly recommend tour with René for people, who like logical view of history and who want to understand, not only hear random facts.

Anna

No Title

October 11, 2023

This is an excellent experience for anyone wanting an explanation behind some of the things you wondered about in Venice or to get their eyes opened to the centuries of stories behind everything.

Kyle

Fantastic history focussed guide

October 2, 2023

I walked with Rene for two days in September and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m fairly good on my European history, so quite demanding but I learned so much. I especially recommend visiting some of the lagoon islands!

David
Verified

Highly recommend

September 19, 2023

Incredible depth of knowledge – told the story of Venice throughout the ages through hidden architectural treasures along the streets. Highly recommend

Don