Hidden history – reviews

Byzantine art on the walls in Venice

Reviews for the Hidden History in plain sight walk.

Rene beats all other guides here 10 to 1, he is simply the BEST

Rated 5.0 out of 5
November 22, 2021

I took every available tour of Venice during my three days here. Rene beats all other guides here 10 to 1, he is simply the BEST story teller, accurate research, curious facts and attention to detail, very passionate about the city and loads to learn even for a book worm like me. If I could give him ten stars I would. He will definitely be my guide next time in Venice. You can miss out on all the other tours here but you will not have seen Venice if you don’t go on his tour. Thank you so much Rene for making this visit so special!

Anna

Book this experience, you’ll thank me later!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
November 9, 2021

Book this experience, you’ll thank me later! Rene is a phenomenal story-teller and possesses such a wealth of knowledge on the history of Venice. If you want something more beyond the basic facts you learn on the mainstream history tours, this is the experience for you. He opened our eyes to a Venice we would have never seen otherwise and kept us engaged the entire time and even long after we finished the tour. From climate-change and political/socio-economic forces that shaped the city to ancient graffiti and chips on a blank stone that mean way more than you would think they do. This was, hands-down, one of the most valuable experiences we had as first-timers and lovers of history in Venice.

Michael

Very interesting and cozy tour

Rated 5.0 out of 5
February 25, 2024

It was so much fun to listen and walk around with René. He has a quite entertaining way to explain past events and show how it impacts Venice today. We learned a lot (goal achieved) and can definitely recommend his tour!

Donato

First class and insightful tour

Rated 5.0 out of 5
February 23, 2024

Rene is a first class guide with a deep understanding of Venetian history and culture. A Dane having lived for many years in Venice, he combines the wider perspectives of an “outsider”, with a love of his new “home”. So many guides have only a superficial knowledge of the more famous aspects of Venice, Rene takes you back in time to explain how Venice grew and why, to its gradual decline from a position of a trading supremacy that funded its art and culture. Our time passed too quickly. I would without reservation recommend Rene if you really want to understand this unique city.

Paul

The best history tour!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
February 20, 2024

I love history and architecture and always want to know the history and stories behind all the unique details on Vancian buildings and streets. So happy I found Rene’s tour! It’s the best tour we had all our trips to Europe. Will definitely take another tour with Rene If we come back to Venice! Highly recommend!

Claire

Thanks so much for a wonderful tour one’s again

Rated 5.0 out of 5
February 12, 2024

This is my second time taking the tour with Renee, he has a vast knowledge of Venice history. My friend been his fist time, thought the tour was wonderful as well. You will discover the real history of Venice and how people lived at the start of the island. A must take tour while in Venice, you won’t be disappointed.

Guillermo

We loved the historic details you shared with us. It was an unforgettable experience!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
February 11, 2024

Rene was a gem! A vast knowledge of history of Venice. A desire to share his knowledge with us. Very pleasant manner is story telling. Great interest to details. Thank you Rene! We learnt so much with you!

Julia

Would recommend to anyone

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 22, 2024

Had a great time touring a small part of Venice with Rene. His deep knowledge and passion for history are evident and would recommend to anyone looking for a detailed dive into the history of Venice.

Natalie

Grazi Mille. Loved the tour. Will check out your website.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 17, 2024

Wonderful tour. Rene was intelligent, friendly and adapted the tour to my interests. I would highly recommend to anyone interested in the history of Venice.

Siva

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 13, 2024

Velmi profesionální a učený výklad historie Benátek. Tím myslím tu velkou historii osobností a bitev, ale hlavně i tu každodenní, která je složitější na studium.

Ondřej

If you want to dive in deep into the history of Venice do not look further

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 6, 2024

If you want to dive in deep into the history of Venice do not look further. Rene happens to be the most knowledgeable person ever about Venice (and world history in general). We actually didn’t really walked around but spend almost 2 hours just at one place. He pointed out all the details and told stories about them. We left smarter, inspired and full of curiosity about the city. Thank you Rene, it’s been a pleasure spending those 2 hours with you!

Julia

René e simpatico

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 4, 2024

René e simpatico ed ha una grande conoscenza storica di Venezia che ci ha trasmesso in un bellissimo giro concluso in un bacaro con ottimi cicchetti!

Andrea

The tour with René was great.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 1, 2024

The tour with René was great. He knew so much about the city and history, and what was really fun was when we walked around and he pointed at random things we would never had noticed, and explained the rich history behind each item. Since we asked so many questions, he even extended our tour until he really had to leave, which was very nice of him. It was a really great experience and I would book it again the next time I’m in the city!

Mint

Such an informative tour!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 27, 2023

A fantastic tour. Every stone has a story. There is so much history in every alleyway for those willing to look. René will be your personal history professor and give you an in depth look at the political, historical and socioeconomic context of Venice. If you are looking for a general overview of the city’s greatest hits, this tour is not for you. But if you want to tread through secluded alleyways and listen to the secret history etched into the walls around you, René is your guide!

Renna

Definitely recommend!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 26, 2023

Rene is super knowledgeable and we learned so much about Venice history and modern days – definitely recommend!

Xiaochen

E’ stata una bella esperienza, grazie Renè!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 26, 2023

Renè si è dimostrato da subito molto disponibile e cordiale. Ci ha raccontato una Venezia che ci sarebbe sfuggita con una visita da semplici turisti. E’ stata una bella esperienza, grazie Renè!

Marta

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 10, 2023

Rene is a true historian and a fountain of information. An interesting perspective of the city of Venice.

Nehiel

I highly recommend tour with Rene

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 4, 2023

I took 4 hours tour with Rene in Venice. He was really knowledgeable about the history and gave me great overview of the city. Myself I am interested in history and I want to understand it, so time with Rene was very helpful because I got clear picture of what was going on. I highly recommend tour with Rene for people, who like logical view of history and who want to understand, not only hear random facts.

Anna

Rene was an amazing storyteller

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 4, 2023

Rene was an amazing storyteller! I was the only one so it was like a private tour. His tales and great details kept me going in this cold weather. He even extended the time and recommended places to have lunch. One of the highlights was his dog Giubba listening to him and of course, he was an excellent tour partner!

Andrea

We loved the information so much

Rated 4.0 out of 5
December 1, 2023

This tour with Renè was fascinating and he shared so much information about Venice. We are really happy we went!!! Katherine and crew

Katherine

Highly recommend for lovers of history and unique details.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
November 23, 2023

Rene has incredible knowledge and enthusiasm. This was a unique tour because of all the details Rene notices and because we spent less time walking than talking in the square of the meeting place. We were discovering the history of Venice just being in the square and covering the bridge/ the church/ the school/ the statue/ the nearby cemetery which are within 100m of each other. He knows so much that he can easily create a custom experience. His tour was two hours but we talked even more than that as he walked us to our next destination. Highly recommend for lovers of history and unique details.

Anna

A great overview of the city

Rated 5.0 out of 5
November 23, 2023

I took 4 hours tour with René in Venice. He was really knowledgeable about the history and gave me great overview of the city. Myself I am interested in history and I want to understand it, so time with René was very helpful because I got clear picture of what was going on. I highly recommend tour with René for people, who like logical view of history and who want to understand, not only hear random facts.

Anna

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
October 11, 2023

This is an excellent experience for anyone wanting an explanation behind some of the things you wondered about in Venice or to get their eyes opened to the centuries of stories behind everything.

Kyle

Fantastic history focussed guide

Rated 5.0 out of 5
October 2, 2023

I walked with Rene for two days in September and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m fairly good on my European history, so quite demanding but I learned so much. I especially recommend visiting some of the lagoon islands!

David
Verified

Highly recommend

Rated 5.0 out of 5
September 19, 2023

Incredible depth of knowledge – told the story of Venice throughout the ages through hidden architectural treasures along the streets. Highly recommend

Don

Thank you for sharing your knowledge today, René

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 31, 2023

I feel so lucky to have had the chance to walk with René for a couple of hours in Venice. His passion and enthusiasm for this incredible place is infectious and his knowledge and attention to detail unmatched. I felt like a local dodging the crowds to find tiny details of the people and machinations that have made this city what it is today. I don’t think there is a question I could’ve asked that René hadn’t researched the answer to! An absolute treat to be shown the details that hide in plain sight while you sip an espresso. Thank you so much René!

Elise

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 30, 2023

Great tour!

Yair

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 27, 2023

Thank you for your stories and very informative tour of Venice. We really enjoyed learning more of the history. We also really loved the lunch spot you recommended at the end of the trip.

Nicola

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
July 19, 2023

René knows so much about Venice and history in general, he is a fantastic storyteller with lots of knowledge to share. One could listen to him hours on end (which we did afterwards in a café). He showed us that much of Venice’s story is right before our eyes, you just have to look for it. Thank you!

Clara

The details you provided were unparalleled and completely original.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
June 8, 2023

I feel confident no one knows more about Venice than René. There’s so, so much to see on this tour – totally hidden in plain sight – in Campo Giovanni e Paolo that you’ll quickly be appreciative of how much history is embedded all around the full city.

Luke

Merci Rene pour vos informations et recommandations

Rated 5.0 out of 5
May 19, 2023

Excellente experience qui permet d’apprendre beaucoup d’elements captivants de l’histoire de Venise! A faire absolument

Boris

He answered all the questions

Rated 5.0 out of 5
April 13, 2023

The weather was bad but overall the experience with René was great. He answered all the questions I have in detail and showed me many little interesting facts and artifacts that might not be found on internet.

Le

I learnt so much from this morning

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 6, 2023

I went on this tour on my last day in Venice. René is a well of knowledge, and I’d recommend going on this walk on your first full day, so that you can learn about the history of Venice and artefacts inscribed in the city structures. Highly recommended tour!

Kai

Highly recommended

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 5, 2023

René was extremely knowledgable and a great storyteller of Venetian and Italian History. He was friendly and answered all of our questions even those that probably seemed silly. I would highly recommend.

Beth

We are extremely happy to have meet you and taken your tour

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 29, 2023

René had an incredible vast knowledge of the history on Venice. He kept us very entertained with all the many insights of the past of the city. So many little details and great stories. He is great at answering questions and has many funny facts. Tour ended at a wonderful residential side of the city, many visitors don’t get to see. This is a must if you are into history and culture of Venice away from the tourist.

Guillermo

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 17, 2023

This experience is great to get an overview of the history of the Venetian Republic live in a classic public space. René is an expert and fills your time with relatable stories applicable to everyday life.

Eric

No Title

Rated 3.0 out of 5
January 17, 2023

This was not a walking tour, but a standing in the same plaza tour. rene really knows his history, and we definitely gained some knowledge but we wished to have walked around the area to see things he could have pointed out.

Kris

I would recommend taking a tour with him 100%

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 10, 2023

René took the time to understand our level of understanding of Venetian/Italian history and then customized our tour based on that. What he taught us in just 2 hours was incredible. He is very passionate about Venice and history, and this came through in all of the amazing stories he told us. I would recommend taking a tour with him 100%.

Susan

I absolutely recommend this tour

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 7, 2023

Brilliant tour! René is extremely knowledgeable about Venice and Europe history and makes understanding centuries of history easy, accessible and interesting. so many little details would go amiss without his insights. I absolutely recommend this tour.

Sandrine

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
January 3, 2023

If you’re into the history of it all, Rene is the right guy for you. He is full of amazing, facts about Venice. Even though it was cold and raining, this tour definitely enhanced our trip.

Kimberley

No Title

Rated 3.0 out of 5
December 30, 2022

René est un guide sympathique et qui connaît très bien Venise, nous aurions aimé que le « tour » soit un peu moins statique et nous permette de voir plus de lieux différents.

Florence

No Title

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 30, 2022

Very insightful. Time well spent.

Liz

Perfect!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 14, 2022

René gave us a lively interesting walk and talk in Venice. He is so knowledgeable and made it all memorable and funny! Definitely worth every Euro! He even said we could email him with any questions we may have after the walk ended.

Sally

Grazie mille!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 11, 2022

René is very knowledgeable and a great story teller.

Heidi

He was quite brilliant

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 5, 2022

René brought the history of Venice to life through his thoughtful, interesting explanations as to how Venice came to be, the political and economic background and how to read history through the buildings and their decorations. He was quite brilliant.

Simon

Thanks for sharing all of your insights with us!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
November 9, 2022

René was an excellent guide. He had a great depth a knowledge and knew how to tell the history in concise and interesting ways. The hidden history aspect was very cool, lots of things you wouldn’t expect. I would highly recommend this tour.

Paul

René, thank you for your time

Rated 4.0 out of 5
November 8, 2022

René, Very knowledgeable of the history of Venezia../ we enjoyed his tour.

Ivonne

Rene is like an open book of history!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
November 6, 2022

We loved this experienced, we learned so many things about the history and political/social situation of Venice from the beginning of the city until now. Rene is like an open book of history!

Dulcie

No Title

Rated 4.0 out of 5
November 2, 2022

This is a very specific tour. I wanted lots of walking and odd facts about the buildings this is more PBS inclined. Detailed and Rene is loud and articulates well.

Daniel

Pienamente soddisfatti

Rated 5.0 out of 5
October 25, 2022

Aneddoti interessanti, racconti sulla storia di Venezia, spunti e curiosità sulla città. Bisogna colpevolmente ammettere che eravamo dubbiosi sul prenotare una guida danese per venezia, ma la passione e la competenza di René hanno cancellato ogni dubbio. Pienamente soddisfatti.

Marco